Mary Ellis Journey

Help other people change their life by telling your story and letting them know how the band has changed your life.

Mary Ellis Journey

Postby Dr. Arturo » Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:51 am

MY JOURNEY OF LIFE

Ok—so that may sound a little dramatic, but I truly feel that this journey of weight loss has been more than just losing weight. It has changed more than just the number on the scale—I have a new outlook on life, a healthier way to live and a new group of friends for life.
I had been overweight since 1988—tried every diet out there—including the ones that you order food delivered to you. I spent enough on diets to have had the lap band done several times over! I considered bariatric surgery off and on several different times. Being a Registered Nurse, I saw both the successful and the unsuccessful surgeries done in the U.S. In 2004 my brother had RNY bypass surgery done—and was successful—he lost 100 lbs in over a year. I still wasn’t sold on that idea for myself—and started hearing about a new procedure called a “band”. I started casually researching that –but all the while, I continued to gain weight. Every time I tried to go on a diet, I would lose a little—then gain more than I lost.
But in October 2007, I was singing with my chorus at competition. I literally hurt from the multiple rehearsals and performances and all the walking I had to do. When I wasn’t in a rehearsal or on stage or somewhere I had to be, I was in my room taking a pain pill. I was truly miserable.
One of the things they do during competitions is take candid pictures during performances and then put them out to see if anyone wants to buy copies for themselves.